• Test covid disponibile al LAC
  • Mascherina obbligatoria
    (> 12 anni)
  • Tracciabilità garantita

Grigorij Sokolov, piano

Robert Schumann
Kreisleriana, eight fantasies for piano op. 16

Sergej Rachmaninov 
Ten preludes for piano, op. 23

Grigory Sokolov is considered to be of the greatest living pianists. Born in 1950, he is a worthy heir to a tradition embodied by performers such as Richter, Horowitz, Gilels, Glenn Gould and Benedetti Michelangeli. Sokolov owes this to his capacity of immersing himself in the music to reveal its hidden depths, which are rediscovered with each new performance. So much so that the artist has always preferred live performances to studio recordings. Sokolov is also reputed to be a mysterious "Salinger of the piano" who never wishes to appear. A gentle and kind artist, and yet shrouded in the aura of a solitary and ascetic man. 
Each of his concerts is a unique experience. His sound has a magnetic power: round, granitic, mellow, highly poetic. On stage, a continuous, exuberant and feverish imagination overflows, with interpretations that are always consistent but very different, evening after evening. 
Sokolov's admirers know very well that staying glued to their seats and applauding leads to the programme's third part, made up of countless encores.