16 february


Theater Hall

Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

James Gaffigan, conductor / Gil Shaham, violin


György Ligeti
Concerto Românesc (Romanian Concerto)

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Violin Concerto in E minor, op. 64

Jean Sibelius
Symphony No. 2 in D major, op. 43

This concert associates Ligeti's twentieth-century style, reflected in the traditional music of Eastern Europe, with the Scandinavian folkloric-literary suggestions that appear in Sibelius' music. The cornerstone of the beautiful programme conducted by James Gaffigan is Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto performed by Gil Shaham, one of today's leading violinists.

LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Partner principalePartner principale