12 april


Theater Hall


Orchestra Mozart

Daniele Gatti, conductor / Soloists



Ludwig van Beethoven
Triple Concerto for piano, violin and cello in C major, op. 56
Overture to The Ruins of Athens, op. 113

Sergei Prokofiev
Symphony No. 1 in D major, op. 25 Classical

Ludwig van Beethoven
Leonore III Overture, op. 72b

The first of the Orchestra Mozart's programmes offers a choice of works that are rarely heard in concert halls. Beethoven's Triple Concerto, for instance, requires three soloists of an exceptional level. Daniele Gatti will confront this masterpiece with two splendid Beethoven overtures, The Ruins of Athens and Leonore III, one of the most varied and enthralling pieces in the symphonic repertoire, initially composed for the opera Fidelio. Between the two, Prokofiev's First Symphony was written the year of the October Revolution and with a robust neoclassical imprint: limpid and straightforward music of exceptional modernity, nourished by lively images.

LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Partner principalePartner principale