21 october


Theater Hall


Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Andris Nelsons Gewandhauskapellmeister, conductor / Rudolf Buchbinder, piano


Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, op. 15

Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 9 in C major, D. 944 The Great

Alone the presence of Mendelssohn on the rostrum and the Leipzig premieres of works by Schubert, Schumann and Wagner are enough to rank the Gewandhausorchester among the world's finest orchestral ensembles. But that would not account for the velvety sound of the orchestra's strings and the powerful sound of its brass and woodwind instruments. These qualities are enhanced by Andris Nelsons, whose musical direction can grant for extraordinary performances in the wake of the great symphonic tradition. The first of his two concerts associates the inexhaustible impetus of Schubert's last symphony with the kaleidoscopic creativity of Beethoven's First Piano Concerto, entrusted to Rudolf Buchbinder's expert fingers.

LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Partner principalePartner principale