Calendar and info >
X Close

25 april



Tariff E



Orchestra Mozart Soloists

Britten, Mozart, Mendelssohn-Bartholdy



A sentimental and lyrical character defines this second chamber music programme, which appears to be inspired by classical elegy. Britten's only piece for oboe solo is based on Ovid's famous literary work. The musical sequence, which focuses on six episodes, tells the stories of Phaeton and Niobe, Bacchus, Narcissus and Arethusa with great emotional strength. Mozart's Flute Quartet in D major K 285, an absolute masterpiece, displays the uniqueness of music composed with love: the intimate character of the Adagio, sweetly melancholic, is perhaps the most beautiful solo ever written for flute. The same intimacy can be found in Mendelssohn's Quintet op. 87, where the violin shows from the first notes onwards its emotional strength, with a velvety accompaniment that sometimes recalls the luminous world of A Midsummer Night's Dream – also scheduled during these Easter concerts – with its sweet hints of a spectral night. Reason and feeling.

Benjamin Britten
Six Metamorphoses after Ovid, op. 49

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Flute Quartet n. 1 in D major, K 285

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
String Quintet n. 2 in B flat major, op. 87

LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Partner principalePartner principale
email facebook twitter google+ linkedin pinterest
Prismatica. Gioare con la luce
Prismatica. Gioare con la luce