31 january



Cuarteto Casals


LuganoMusicaWeekend Quartetti d'archi

Abel Tomas, violin
Vera Martinez
, violin
Jonathan Brown
, viola
Arnau Tomas
, cello

Franz Joseph Haydn
String Quartet No. 41 in G major, op. 33 No. 5, Hob:III:41

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
String Quartet No. 21 in D major, K. 575

Francisco Coll
Cantos (from Hyperlude V) for String Quartet

Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet No. 7 in F major, op. 59 No. 1

Hailed by the New York Times for its "vivid sonic signature", the Cuarteto Casals – formed in Madrid in 1997 – now performs on the world's best concert stages, from the Carnegie Hall in New York to the Cité de la Musique in Paris and the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.

In addition to performing the repertoire's great masterpieces – scheduled in this concert with the Viennese classics - the Cuarteto Casals launched during its recent 20th-anniversary season a multi-year project devoted to the Beethoven Quartets. The ensemble also works closely with contemporary composers, in particular György Kurtàg and the major Spanish composers, including Francisco Coll.

Register to "Listen Twice"A date to listen, analyse, discuss and listen a second time through. An in-depth approach of the string quartet through examples provided by famous composers such as Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven

LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Partner principalePartner principale