Calendar and info >
X Close

21 april



Quartetto Prazák


LuganoMusicaWeekend Quartetti d'archi

Jana Vonášková  violin
Vlastimil Holek  
Josef Klusoň  
Michal Kaňka 

Anton Webern
Langsamer Satz for String Quartet, WoO 6

Arnold Schönberg
String Quartet in D major

Bedřich Smetana
String Quartet n. 1 in E minor From My Life

The 35-year old Pražák Quartet – founded in 1972 by students of the Prague Conservatory – is reputed for being one of the best quartets moulded in the Bohemian tradition. For its LuganoMusica concert – the second evening of a mini spring quartet festival – the Pražák Quartet has selected two works from the Second Viennese School that are strongly influenced by Brahms, Dvořák and Mahler: Arnold Schönberg’s Quartet in D major (published posthumously without an opus number) and the Slow movement for string quartet of his pupil Anton Webern. In the second half of the programme, the Pražák Quartet will perform Bedřich Smetana’s Quartet No 1 in E minor ("From My Life"), a composition that opened a new era in the field of Czech chamber music. The autobiographical content of this highly original work marks its presence in quartet’s four movements like a programme ("I wanted to trace the course of my life in music" said Smetana).

LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Partner principalePartner principale
email facebook twitter google+ linkedin pinterest
Prismatica. Gioare con la luce
Prismatica. Gioare con la luce